Cannes 2017: The Square wins the Palme d’Or, Diane Kruger takes home Best Actress & More at the Festival’s Closing Ceremony

The 70th Annual Cannes Film Festival has come to an end and for the closing ceremony, there were some pretty big wins.
Diane Kruger won the best actress for her role in Fatih Akin‘s In the FadeRuben Östlund‘s The Square surprisingly takes home the prestigious Palme d’Or, while Sofia Coppola won the best director for her movie The Beguiled.
See the full list of winners
Palme d’Or: Ruben Östlund – The Square
Grand Prix: Robin Campillo – 120 Beats Per Minute
Jury Prize: Andrey Zvyagintsev – Loveless
Best Director: Sofia Coppola – The Beguiled
Best Actor: Joaquin Phoenix – You Were Never Really Here
Best Actress: Diane Kruger – In the Fade
Best Screenplay: Yorgos Lanthimos – The Killing of a Sacred Deer, Lynne Ramsay – You Were Never Really Here
Camera d’Or: Léonor Sérraille – Jeune Femme
Short Film Palme d’Or: Qiu Yang – A Gentle Night
Special 70th Anniversary Award: Nicole Kidman
Un Certain Regard Prize: Mohammad Rasoulof – A Man of Integrity
Best Poetic Narrative: Mathieu Amalric – Barbara
Best Direction: Taylor Sheridan – Wind River
Jury Prize: Michel Franco – April’s Daughter
Nespresso Grand Prize: Emmanuel Gras – Makala
France 4 Visionary Award: Fellipe Gamarano Barbosa – Gabriel and the Mountain
Leica Cine Discovery Prize for Short Film: Laura Ferrés – Los Desheredados
Gan Foundation Support for Distribution Award: Fellipe Gamarano Barbosa – Gabriel and the Mountain
SACD Award: Léa Mysius – Ava
Canal+ Award: Aleksandra Terpińska – The Best Fireworks
Art Cinema Award: Chloé Zhao – The Rider
SACD Award: Claire Denis – Let the Sunshine In, Philippe Garrel – Lover for a Day
Europa Cinemas Label Award: Jonas Carpignano – A Ciambra
Illy Prize for Short Film: Benoit Grimalt – Back to Genoa City
Cannes saw dozens of film premieres, parties, and red carpet appearances from the likes of RihannaBella Hadid and Kendall Jenner. But for the closing night, Uma ThurmanJessica Chastain and Diane Kruger were the leading ladies on the carpet.
Cannes 2017: The Square wins

Diane Kruger & Fatih Akin
Cannes 2017: The Square wins

Uma Thurman
Cannes 2017: The Square wins

Jessica Chastain
Also on the red carpet were jury members Will Smith, Agnes Jaoui, Paolo Sorrentino, Gabriel Yared, Jessica Chastain, Pedro Almodovar, Fan Bingbing, Park Chan-Wook and Maren Ade. 
Cannes 2017: The Square wins
Share is Caring
ALSO READ  Davido’s 30 Billion World Tour kicks off in Ukraine | See Photos

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Copy Protected by Chetan's WP-Copyprotect.